MalagaCar.com reviews - Page 23



4.7 out of 5.0 based on 1255 reviews.


« Previous 30 Reviews Next 30 Reviews »
My wife and I are just back from a terrific one week trip to Frigiliana. This was my first trip to Spain and my first time to use malagacar.com, a company recommended to me by a colleague who has used malagacar.com on very many occasions.
From arriving at the airport on the 05/09/13 we were met by a friendly and professional rep; and then transported to the car rental office. The process was fast, efficient and entirely pain free.
My only gripe(s) with the car was that the windscreen washer bottle was empty, the inside of the windscreen was dirty and the car itself was underpowered (a subjective opinion). But for €76 plus half a tank of petrol I really have no complaints.
As for my subjective opinion, the car was a Opel Corsa 1.2 petrol. Whilst a nice little car and ideal for a short trip it was a struggle to keep up a decent speed on the motorway to Frigiliana and Granada. I would suggest that malagacar.com use the 1.3cdti diesel version rather than the seriously underpowered 1.2 petrol.
As for the washer bottle? well that was easy to find and fill, the inside of the windscreen was easy to clean...but I should not have had to do that.
We returned the car back to the office at 05:00hrs on Thursday morning 12/09/13 and were quickly transported to the airport.
Will we use malagacar.com again? Most certainly we will, but something with a bit more power.
I have no hessitation in recommending this company to anyone else be looking to rent a car in Malaga.


Response of Malagacar.com
Dear customer,
Thanks for your email. Your words are really welcome. Please accept our apologies. The cars must be checked every rental but I can see the car was returned by the previous customer just a few minutes before it was picked up by you.
The car is a 1.2 L but for customers who like bigger engines we offer the category C1 so this is a min 1.4 L.
Regards and I hope we can help you in future.
Alberto

From: Ciaran O'kelly
Submitted: 13th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Hello from Estonia, Malagacar
Thank you very much for the car rental service, everything was great.
The car was amazing, the service at the highest level.
Best regards,
Olesja

From: Alice - Aliisija
Submitted: 12th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Buenas tardes,

I would like to thank you for the great service of renting a car. We had to leave early in the morning, so I didn´t have time to ask for the collision which we had in Arcos. I hope everything is ok, because we would like to use your services next time also

Kind Regards

From: Blazena Benicka
Submitted: 12th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


This company was one of the best 4 years ago BUT unfortunately they became the worst ,
1- we had to wait for 38 minutes for bus to take us to the office
2-I had to pay 300€ as deposit ONLY by credit card ( I wanted to pay cash)
3- On Internet site it's NOT mention about deposit
4- after 20 minutes paper work I get my carbut without babysit again had to go back pay and get it
5- after returning the car I did NOT get back my deposit ,still after 10 day and 4-5 email NO money on my account
6- absolutely unpolite and rud people working there when returning the car
I use to like your company a lot and send you a lot of customers from Hungary ......but NOT anymore,you did not respect your 4 years customer like me ,everybody has respect at his or her homeland.

Response from Malagacar.com


Dear Customer,

I appreciate your time and comment and try to respond point by point as most important to us is the customer, in this case you.

1. I can see that the plane landed at 7:34 pm and you made the payment with your credit card at 8:42 pm. In principle, it is a time not out of normal and even less considering that you arrived on a Saturday afternoon rush hour.

2. You didn´t leave a deposit of 300 € although it was one of € 243.52, which you can either way pay by card or cash. It seems there occurred an error so please accept our apologies.

3. On our website we do mention the deposit. Not only we mention it but we also differ from other car rental companies because we don´t ask for minimum amounts of 400 € or 600 €. Just when submitting the quote you have a link "+ info" (highlighted in red) where you can see what is included and what is not included. You can also see the terms and conditions by clicking on "read full Terms". It is also explained in the booking confirmation which I enclosed in a private email to you.

4. The cars are always delivered without child seats and it is the client who must request them; although you are right that you booked it, thus the staff should have asked at least what type of chair you requested. Please accept our apologies on this point.

5. Generally, the deposit will be returned within 24 hours. Your deposit was returned on the 10th of September (7 days after returning your vehicle). Although this doesn?t happen frequently, I´ll talk to the administration department so that it doesn´t again.

6. Please tell me what happened when you returned your vehicle as you said the staff was poorly educated and I want to know exactly what happened.

Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada

From: Dr H. Jahromi M. Ali
Submitted: 12th September, 2013

Rating: (1 out of 5)


Great service, we've used you twice and will use you again next year, friendly staff and very easy rental service.

From: Matthew Ashton
Submitted: 11th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I have been a happy customer of Malagacar for many years and use your services 4-5 times a year. Recently, we had a problem with our car. The engine did not start while we were on an excursion in Ronda. We informed Malagacar and the local car service arrived in few minutes. However, the car could not be repaired and needed replacement. The car was put on a truck and my wife and me accompanied the truck driver. First, we halted to repair another car, then we were driven to the local depot, the car was loaded on another truck, all of us drove to Malaga where the car was delivered to a garage and we had to wait for somebody of malagacar to collect us and to go to pick up a replacement car.
It would be much more client friendly if Malagacar organised a truck with the replacement car and brought this to Ronda where they could pick up the old car and return to Malaga. We could have continued our visit to Ronda in that period.

See you again in november.


Response from Malagacar.com

Dear customer,
Thanks for your email. We are sorry the car broke down. When is possible, we change the cars where was broken down but that day you were offered come back to our office because the staff was really busy and you were going to be waiting for a few hours for a new car.
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada

From: Edgard Backx
Submitted: 10th September, 2013

Rating: (4 out of 5)


Here are 3 reasons why you should not choose malagacar.com:

1)Be ready that after booking a car and paying for it you can be provided with another car with no reason given and at this point you won't be able to change anything,

2)Be ready that the information provided on web-site is not the real one. If you have a flight at night you will be able to give the car back only either before 11 pm or after 5 am.. although they work 24 hours following their web-site. Okey.. you can do it from 11 pm till 12 am.. but you' ll have to pay 25 euro!!!

3)Be ready that they won't respond to all the questions you ask online.

Malaga is a wonderful city!!!! Make the right choice whether you want to save money or want to make your holiday to be spoiled.


Response from Malagacar.com

Thanks for your answer.
Regarding point 1) You booked a group D2 and that is what you received. This is a medium size car with a diesel engine and you received a diesel medium size car, a Toyota Auris diesel. If you read at http://www.malagacar.com/uk/car-hire/22/Opel-Astra-5-doors-DIESEL-GUARANTEED.html you will see you got what you choose.
Regarding point 2) This is not real. I think there was a misunderstanding as you can leave the car at any time. Many customers leave the cars at night time. You are charged 25 euros just when the car is collected after 11 pm. We collected when you had to leave the car 7 cars before 5 am
Regarding point 3) I am doing it. I can see the message you left through our website 2 days ago and our conversation.
Regards,

J. Alberto Anglada

From: Helen
Submitted: 9th September, 2013

Rating: (1 out of 5)


Ladies and Gentlemen,
I am always satisfied with your service,

Sincerely,

B. Vorndran-Friesian

From: Brunhilde Vorndran-friese
Submitted: 8th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


We have used Malagacar now for nearly 3 years, 4 times a year, and just returned Tues after hiring for a month. Excellent service, efficient, friendly staff and never had any problems with their vehicles. I always take the extra insurance as we hire for long periods. Back in December and will again be using Malagacar. A company you can trust.

From: David Simm
Submitted: 8th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Last week we hired for six days a car; it has been the first time we used Malagacar.com and we are quite satisfied, from the attention and easiness of picking up and bringing back the car, the transfer from the airport to their offices and vice versa was very fast, the car new and clean. I just found one problem, in the Renault Megane which they gave me the fuel gauge didn´t work well; first it said there were 120 km of gasoline left, then suddenly it jumped and said 60 km, then it jumped again and said 100 km; thus I couldn´t bring back the car empty as I didn´t know how much fuel was left and I had to put in more as I didn´t want to risk getting stranded.


Response from Malagacar.com
Dear Sr. Ortega,

Thank you for your email and your time. We are pleased you enjoyed our service and I would also like to answer regarding the consumption of the vehicle. It is an indicator of the average consumption, which increases and decreases according to a number of factors (first kilometres, after a phase of acceleration, cold engine, from urban traffic passing to road traffic). In my email to you I enclose a copy of the page from the book of instructions of Renault Megane which talks about it..

From: Josep Ortega Adàn
Submitted: 7th September, 2013

Rating: (4 out of 5)


Hi Malagacar.com

Thanks for the refund of my deposit. Excellent service. We will definitely use you again and recommend you!

Best wishes

From: Dermot Doherty
Submitted: 6th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Hi, just wanted to say thanks for a good car hire experience. Will be back to you next time
Regards
Simon

From: Simon Finch
Submitted: 5th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Fabulous! Very reasonable priced car hire. Also, a great idea to only ask for the customer to pay for a half a tank; much better than the usual full tank. The customer service desk staff gave excellent speedy service and the car was super. The airport transfer was regular & the driver carried our suitcases on and off. I would highly recommend Malagacar and I will use them again.

From: Rachel Webster
Submitted: 4th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


After reading all the positive experiences about this company i booked a car. I was not disappointed. Great car and excellent staff. The only negative point(which i should have checked before taking the car ) is that i paid for a 1/2 tank of fuel and never got one. I reckon i lost 10 Euros of fuel. I still give 5 star rating and i have booked for next year. Thank's again Malagacar.com. Robert


Response from Malagacar.com
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your appreciative comment.
About the fuel, I can see the car was not returned with half a tank so I cannot refund you money but for your next rental we will do the best for you 
Regards,
Alberto

From: Robert Bennett
Submitted: 4th September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Dear Senor/Senorita, I am sending this email to say thank you very much for sorting out my problem with my car. The replacement car arrived when you said it would and hopefully your driver arrived back safe at your depot. I have only ever used your company when coming to Malaga and will continue to do so. Your employee/driver was very pleasant and easy to deal with. It is easy for people to complain so I think it only right to say well done and thank you when a problem arises and is dealt with so efficiently.
Kind Regards
Niall Mac Phaidin

From: Neil Mc Fadden
Submitted: 1st September, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Malagacar was recommended to us by friends who have used them in the past without any issues. So I booked a car on the 28th April 2013 for collection on the 20th July and returning on the 10th August. It was for 3 weeks hire. It was the early hours of the morning on the 19th August when we landed in Malaga and was greeted and collected with no issues. The car we were given was a purple Panda which seemed ok but was not new and had 47,000 on the clock. We drove to our accommodation that night and was unloading the car when my daughter told me there was no number plate on the front of the vehicle, I looked and she was right nothing there. The next day I went and inspected the car and in the daylight it had seen better days!!, wheel trims were cracked and broken the main door lock and been damaged badly so you could have opened it with anything like a basic screw driver the body work wasnt great either. I phoned Malaga cars that morning and asked if it was illegal in Spain to drive without a front number plate? they told me it was, so I asked why they had given me a car without one they couldn't explain and didn't apologise and told me to bring it back and they would exchange no apology nothing! The next day I made the 45 minute journey all the way back to depot near the airport and went inside and went to a guy at the desk and informed him that I was returning a car and explained the situation he just said see the girl through there and didn't want to help me at all, so I went to another staff member and explained to her what had happened she just said that's strange and in Spanish started to inform all of her colleagues that I had been given a car with no number plate, she then informed me that she would swap it for newer car. I had no sincere apology or offer of an upgrade but would be given a newer car, I was then given the keys and told to go and find it in the garage area, so wondering around pressing the key fob looking for flashing lights and there in the corner was the replacement another Panda. Was it newer didn't look it too me and when I started it had 42,000 on the clock! I was treated really bad and the customer service was non existent.

Also to anyone thinking about using them please note; if you have a night flight 11.30pm-4am they will charge you an extra 25.00 euros to be collected!! Also to note if you don't have the additional insurance from them you have to pay the same amount again as a holding deposit! (my rental was 515.82 and they took 1030.00 off my credit card) they only refunded when returned.
I witnessed one lady going crazy about this has she didn't have any more credit on her card to pay this and had to phone a friend to pay it for her!

Overall it was the worst car hire I have experienced in 10 years of flying into Malaga.


Response from Malagacar.com
Dear customer,
I am really sorry you think we are the worst car hire company you have experienced but we do the best for our customers. I can understand the number plate was not but you can be sure we will never a rent a car with no plates so may be this has fallen during the trip. You got a car with 47043 kms so I don?t think this is an old car and if you rent from other car hire companies not always will be cars with less than this kilometers. We can apologize if we know we made a mistake. If you were given a Panda again is because you rented in our busiest time and we had nothing bigger available.
In our terms and conditions we explain the out of hours charge is 25 € and in case the insurance is not taken a deposit must be left so you were informed before your arrival.
Anyway please accept our apologies. I would like to help you next time you visit Malaga so in case you think rent from us I will do the best for you.

Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada

From: Jason Whitehouse
Submitted: 31st August, 2013

Rating: (1 out of 5)


I am just coming back from my holidays and I am thrilled with the car from Malagacar. They picked us up at the airport (there were three Minibuses at once). Once I had hired my vehicle, I realised it was brand-new (3000 km). When bringing it back, they returned my deposit within two days. Unlimited mileage is true and also returning the car with empty tank. When bringing back the car, an employee of Malagacar drove us to the airport in the same vehicle without having to take out the luggage (he helped us very kindly). Without doubt, I ´ll rent again with Malagacar.
Thank you for the excellent service

From: Sergio
Submitted: 31st August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


During more than 5 years I can depend on Malagacar and can recommend them very much.
Excellent service - kind customer service centre; always on time to pick you up.

From: Chantal Vanderstraeten
Submitted: 31st August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


We used Malagacar.com for the first time on our recent visit to Spain last week. This was our 4th visit to Spain and having used other car companies previously, we can definitely say this company was by far the best car rental we have used on any trip abroad.
From landing where we were met at the arrivals hall, it only took less than 5 mins to get to the office. On arrival there was no delay, no queue to content with and really good customer service. Having been fleeced twice by a well-known car hire company Hertz on arrival for fuel charges, we deliberately used this company as they provide a fair fuel policy. Also, a friend who visits Spain several times a year told us to use this company as she had tried them all and also found Malagacar.com far superior to other car rentals out there. All emails were very promptly answered, no waiting in lines for counter, very honest service at the counter, as my husband paid more money by mistake handing over the payment. The attendant came out and handed him back the extra note he had given in by mistake. Talk about a really honest and upstanding person. We were very impressed to say the least.
We have never experienced no queues, fast customer service, fair fuel policy before when we rented car hire. Don't bother wasting your time searching other companies, we have been there done that and believe me you won't do better than Malagacar.com.
Thank you Malagacar.com for a top class professional honest and ultra-prompt service. We hope to return again and will definitely be using your service if in Spain.

From: The Colemans, Ireland.
Submitted: 29th August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Have rented from you on average 5 to 6 times per year, and all our family and friends who use our apartment at Miraflores rent from you as well. we have all enjoyed brilliant service and excellent prices in all of that time..However I do have an issue with you charging the same amount as the cost of the hire as an Insurance if you don't take out your Insurance, and the extra cost if you pick up the car outside normal hours..You never used to apply these charges and I was recently charged for both these, but had to wait 47 minutes to be served.
I have e-mailed you my constructive criticism on 28th July, and because I did not receive a reply, I sent a copy of said e-mail on 15th August, but to date have not received an answer.
You are easily the very best Car Hire company in Spain and I and my family and friends will continue to use you, but I had hoed some Constructive criticism would be helpful in ensuring you continue in the future to remain "The Best Car Hire company in Spain".
Regards.
William Edwards.



Response of Malagacar.com

Dear Mr. Edwards,
Thanks for your time and comments. The last car you rented from us was in May so I think you are talking about this one.

Deposit: If you read our term and conditions (These changed in May 2012 so this is not new) a deposit is taken in case the extra insurance is not accepted by the customer. Anyway you rented some cars from us before so you are a good client. I will leave a note in the system so you will not be requested a deposit for future bookings.
Out of hours: In case the aircraft lands after 11 pm the out of hours is applied. Usually you were not charged for it because you have taken the car before that time. Until 2012 the out of hours charge was 15 € from 10 pm and now is 25 € but from 11 pm. This amount must be paid because it?s for the employees.

Waiting time: Yes, you had to wait 47 minutes but not 47 minutes to be served, but 47 minutes since the aircraft landed and you picked up the car, so I think the waiting time mas minimum. The plane arrived at 00:11 and the payment was made by you at 00:57. Please calculate the time since the plane is left, the luggage is taken, you are met by our staff and taken to our office.

If (as said by you) we are the best Car Hire Company in Spain is because we have friends like you who give us the opportunity, through comments, to strive the best service every day. With these words I want to convey to you we will always do the best for you and this is what we did and will be.
Once again, thanks a million!!!

J. Alberto Anglada

From: William Edwards
Submitted: 29th August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Booking was easy and efficient. The arrangements for shuttle bus transfer was extremely manic. We had to wait for 3 buses to go past before we could get on one as we weren't quick enough to get to the front of the bundle of people (difficult with small tired children, bags, pushchairs etc). So, I was a little disappointed with this aspect of the service. Service at malagacar.com was OK. However, I am extremely upset to find out on my return that I have been charged twice for my car rent. At the prices it costs to rent a car for a week, this is no small sum!! I have e-mailed malagacar.com and am awaiting a reply.

Response of Malagacar.com
Dear Maxine,
In order to improve a better service every day, your comments are really welcome.
Buses: You arrived at the day´s busiest time (10 am). The three buses we have were running so we always try you wait the minimum time as possible.
Charged twice: Please accept our apologies. This was made automatically by mistake with 1 minute difference. The amount was refunded in your credit card on August 29th.
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada


Client Answer:
Many thanks!

From: Maxine Kindred
Submitted: 29th August, 2013

Rating: (3 out of 5)


There are so many car hire companies at Malaga Airport but I'm so glad we picked Malagacar for our 2 week holiday. I really can't fault their service - fast, friendly and courteous. Unfortunately, I had a small accident in my car but Malagacar dealt with the situation very efficiently and without fuss. What could have been a stressful event turned out not be a problem at all.
I would definitely use them again and highly recommend their car hire.

From: Peter Read
Submitted: 27th August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


We have used Malagacar for a few years now and have been very pleased with them. Great service, no fuss and fast processing, we are on our way in no time at all. We are returning in September and we will have had four months carhire from them this year.Thank you to all the staff at Malagacar.com

From: Liz Wilkinson
Submitted: 24th August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Hello

We have just arrived to Denmark yesterday after a lovely week in Torrox just outside of Malaga.

Like we did last time, we rented a car in your company and we want to thank you for a fantastic service - both when picking up the car and returning it before leaving Malaga. It was such a good experience renting a car by Malagacar.com and we will recommend you to all friends and family. We have used other companies earlier but after trying Malagacar.com we will come back to you next time we are going to Torrox, and next time, and next... :-)

Again, thanks for a fantastic service.


Steen Holsteen Jessen
Line Lauth Gøttler

Denmark

From: Line Lauth Gøttler
Submitted: 22nd August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I recently hired a car from you as I do about 4 to 5 times a year. I have always been very pleased with the service and the cars I have received, this last time however I was very disappointed to be shown to a car that was parked outside, not cleaned and quite old, when I rejected this I was told I would have to pay 57 euro to upgrade to a C3. I was not happy to pay the extra and being a loyal customer should have been treated better and upgraded for free, as the car I was about to be given was not up to standard would at least expect a free upgrade in October when I return or my 57 euro back.


Response from Malagacar.com
Dear Mr Dyke
Thanks for your email we appreciate your comments. I have checked your contract and I see that the reservation you talk about was for collection on the 16th of July which is premium season when we do not have many available cars, therefore we apply the vehicles to bookings to get our planning set according to availability, as the car you reserved was from the group B, we had for you the car in the group ordered by you.
I understand that you may not like the car because is not brand new, but it was a car driving perfectly within the category you reserved. We upgrade the bookings only when is possible but that is something that we cannot do in premium season that is the reason why you were asked to pay to have an upgrade, which is the standard procedure in this cases. We are sorry for the inconveniences this may cause you.
You also complain about the car being parked outside, this is an usual practice to free space inside, but the car is taken out only on the same day when the car is rented out, I can assure you that the car was not parked outside for a long time. If that is something that annoys you, we will make sure that the rental car will be given to you inside our premises, always, for your booking in October we cannot promise you an upgrade but we will make sure that you get a new car spotless.
Should any other doubt or query arise, do not hesitate to contact us.
Yours faithfully,
Maryori M.
Reservations dpt.

From: Andrew James Dyke
Submitted: 19th August, 2013

Rating: (1 out of 5)


We have been using malagacar.com for several years usual in May/June and at Christmas; have always been very happy with service and pricing, car provided and airport transfer service.

From: Michael Odell
Submitted: 19th August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


My first booking with Malagacar and absolutely no problems.
Everything absolutely perfect; pick up from the airport; pick up and return of the car and transport to the airport were flawless. Any time again.
Service and overview of costs can be recommended.

From: Wolfgang Henke
Submitted: 19th August, 2013

Rating: (4 out of 5)


I have just come back from a two weeks holiday in Malaga and had hired a car for this period. I had excellent service and the car had small scratches on it when we got it but they do not bother about this as the drivers in Spain are notorious for dents and scratched on their cars. We got a five door Corsa for just the two of us. We had no problem when we arrived at the airport as the booking form clearly tells you not to go down stairs and go through the sliding doors where someone will be holding up a sign and you then walk to the bus stop and get the minibus to their office. On arrival back with the car we did not even have to get out as representative met us and drove our car to the airport. Excellent service and would definitely use them again.

From: James Oswald
Submitted: 18th August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Rented a car for one week in July 2013. When exiting the airport, we were initially concerned as we couldn't see the Malagacar rep. However, rather than being among all the other reps on the right, we hadn't noticed that he was standing with a small group on the left! Once we had been dropped off at the car hire office, the check in process was quick and we were on our way in 15 minutes. When we asked for the minor scratches etc. to be marked on the rental sheet we were told it wasn´t necessary as minor items were covered by the rental. When we returned the car one week later, there were no problems and our deposit was quickly refunded within two days. Overall, a very good experience and excellent value, so we will definitely use them again next time.

From: Dave C
Submitted: 14th August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Excellent service. My sister doubted that they would be there on my arrival as I arrived at 1 am, but the service was impeccable. They even gave me advice about good beaches. Important: Don´t look closely at the car when picking it up because they don´t so either when you return it.

From: Ana De Argentina
Submitted: 14th August, 2013

Rating: (5 out of 5)


« Previous 30 Reviews Next 30 Reviews »


Site map | Legal warning | Privacy policy | Affiliate Program | Work with us
Address: Avenida del Comandante García Morato, 34 (Pol. Ind. Aeropuerto de Málaga) 29004 Málaga, Spain.
Tel: +34 952 17 60 30. Email: info@malagacar.com.
All content © 2015 malagacar.com - Bardon y Rufo 67 S.L.
Malaga Car Hire
 Car hire Malaga Alquiler de coches en Malaga Autovermietung Malaga Flughafen Malaga Car autoverhuur Malaga car hire in Russian Malaga Location de voitures
Help and Support
24 hour services

Credit cards accepted