Contact us

Malaga car hire office Address:
Avenida García Morato, 34
(Pol. Ind. Aeropuerto de Málaga)
29004 - Málaga, Spain.

Phone:
+34 952 17 60 30.

24 hours Phone + WhatsApp:
+34 600 523 523.

UK Phone:
0871 2844700.

Email:
info@malagacar.com

Agencies:
agency@malagacar.com.

Mailing List:
Subscribe to our mailing list.


MalagaCar.com reviews

Share your experience

Some costumers have written back with appreciative comments about our car hire Malaga airport services. You can find below a selection of the latest testimonials and reviews received:

Send your review Share your experience with Malagacar.com


4.6 out of 5.0 based on 1306 reviews.


Next 30 Reviews »
This is the only rental car company I can trust. I have used them for many years. I have previously had problems with other companies, but never with Malagacar. Everything about their cars, prices, and service is excellent with my only possible negative comment being about the process and time taken collecting you from the airport. I think they are enforcing the numbered ticket system now, and that should make it better and avoid the free for all when the bus arrives.

From: Martin Read Henry
Submitted: 17th January, 2017

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Having looked at your website, I wanted to book a car in the F3 category with full pack. I rang the number provided on the website but before I could get my first sentence across, the man that answered the phone said "go to the website" and put the phone down. Well, thats the end of that booking. I will absolutely not use this company now. Quite unbelievable.

Reply by Malagacar.com
Dear Mr Jones,

Thanks for contacting us could you tell me when and at what time did you call? The customer service is vital for us and we don't accept employees who put the phone down.

Regards
Alberto

From: Steve Jones
Submitted: 16th January, 2017

Rating: (1 out of 5)


I booked a Renault Megane in June 2016 for €100 for 14 nights, this year its €250? WTF: Due to Brexit I guess??

Reply by Malagacar.com
Dear customer,
 You are right, you paid 101,19 € for 13 days (not 14). Please let me know the arrival and departure date and I will check the price for this year.
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada
 

From: Barry Archbold
Submitted: 16th January, 2017

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Car quality is ok, but reimbursement of caution takes ages and requires very close follow up. Two months after the rent of a car despite regular promises from the company, i still have to chase the company for reimbursing my caution. Success not guaranteed! Cannot recommend this company.

Reply by Malagacar.com

Dear Frederick,
I am trying to find the car rented by you but when I look for by email or name nothing exist. Please let me know the booking number or contract number.
Regards,
Alberto
 
 

From: Frederick Wemel
Submitted: 14th January, 2017

Rating: (1 out of 5)


As with many other people leaving comments, I have a mixed experience with Malagacar. The price I was quoted was extremely good, and although there was a long queue to collect the car the service was good, and the car was clean and relatively new when I collected it. However, I am disappointed to have been charged an additional amount with NO communication. The contracted rate was €76, I was actually charged €111... Please can you explain why? thank you Darryll


Reply by Malagacar.com:

Dear customer,

After studying your case, I can confirm you have paid what you were quoted. You booked the Basic Pack so the price did not include fuel. You were charged 76,62 € for the car + 35 € for fuel.

Regards,
Alberto


Reply by Darryll Rogers:

Dear José Alberto,

Thank you for investigating and confirming this point so quickly, I appreciate it and agree that you are correct.

Regards,
Darryll

From: Darryll Rogers
Submitted: 12th January, 2017

Rating: (3 out of 5)


Just had a great nippy toyota for a week always good cars from Malagacar. Im back out in Spain in three weeks time and sure to use Malagacar again.

From: Mervyn Coxon
Submitted: 7th January, 2017

Rating: (5 out of 5)


When we are in Spain, we always rent our car with Malagacar. Most of the time we apply for full service. Last time in november I accidently booked one day to many which upon arrival we told the lady at the desk. It was not possible to change the booking so we had to pay for one dat extra which also included the full package. This time, we only have a one way ticket so that we can decide when to fly back to Holland. We also have one way tickets for February and march. We like to rent our car with Malagacar but we do not know how to place the booking. We rented our cars the last 3 years only with Malagacar and always got a good service so I am sure we will work out!!

From: Tine Van Rootselaar
Submitted: 3rd January, 2017

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I have been using Malagacar.com for a number of years now and have always had a very good experience. My latest booking over the Xmas and New Year period was a bitter sweet one. When we arrived at the meeting place the first driver was not interested in checking the queue tickets so with having a partially disabled member in our party we were unable to compete with the free for all. It was the same trying to get on the transfer bus back again. The ticket idea is a good one but should be managed better and also repeated on the return journey. When I got to the check in desk (paid full pack but no priority queue) I was given a car in a lower group than I had booked or paid for. I pointed this out and was offered a discount. I told the agent that the size of the car was important and the reason for pre booking one. I was told there was no car available in my required group and in the end had to settle for the best alternative on offer. This car then broke down on our way to Seville 2 days later. Fortunately we were picked up within 30 mins and returned to the airport office and given a replacement car in the group I had originally booked. Apologies were made for all my troubles and a discount was given. Replacement car was excellent and the rest of the hire went without incident. Brake down service was excellent and staff tried hard to make up for me not getting the required car I needed. Just hope that next time they have planned in the right group car I require as booking in advance gives no excuse for not getting this right.

Reply by Malagacar.com
Dear Mr. Billsu,
 Thanks for your email. I helped you when you came with the broken car and you could get the Evoque. We are really sorry the Evoque was not available when you arrived on December 26th but the car booked for you was not returned by the previous customer so this is why my colleague tried to give you a BMW X1. My colleague liked to give you a BMW X1 because is not usual a customer who book a SUV like a people carrier so this is why You were not offered the Renault Grand Scenic.
Thanks for trusting us and we hope to see you soon. 
Regards,
Alberto
 

From: Roger Billsu
Submitted: 3rd January, 2017

Rating: (4 out of 5)


Disappointed. Car was filthy inside, it felt like someone had been sleeping in it. After using car used antiseptic on hands to avoid infection. Car drove ok but faltered and suspension juts carried on bouncing after any large bump. Service ok. Will not return.

Reply by Malagacar.com
Dear customer,
I am sorry but I cannot find your booking by name or email given. Please let me know the booking or contract number so I will see what happened.
Thanks
J. Alberto Anglada

 

From: Veejay
Submitted: 30th December, 2016

Rating: (2 out of 5)


I have been renting different cars in Malaga for four months now. I have tried different companies, more expensive as well. And I have also been tempted to choose cheaper companies, but so far I I have been put off by the reviews and did not dare. The last times I have chosen Malagacar and I have been really satisfied. Easy to find at arrival, quick shuttle and quick and nice service at the office. The cars are not new but absolutely without problems. There has been some scratches which I have shown to the staff on pick-up, and they have been noted directly. When I have had questions I've got very quick answers by e-mail, even night time. I have paid the agreed amount upon pick-up plus half a tank of fuel. As I usually choose basic Insurance they have registerred a deposit of 1000 Euros at pick-up. I have never had any damages or other problems so the deposit has not been used. So far I can highly recommend Malagacar. And I hope the good handling will continue so I can remain a satisfied and happy customer and that I don't have to find another Car Rental Company.

From: Eva
Submitted: 19th December, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I would like to share my experience of my present car hire with Malaga cars. I collected the car on the 22nd November and everything was fine until about 2 weeks later when I noticed a 30 euros debit on my credit card.When I checked with the company they informed me that it was a speeding fine administration fee.I asked for proof of where and when as I am meticulous about keeping to speed limits and as I am in Spain until mid January and if I had inadvertently broke the speed I knew that the letter would be just lying on my doormat and I will miss the deadline for payment . When I received an email reply to my request. I was astounded to see that the speeding offence was for the 18th November- 4 days before I hired the car. When I got back to Malagacars about a refund but more importantly providing Trafico with the correct driver details I am still waiting to hear from them. What I find disappointing is that I have been using malagacars fo nearly 15 years and always received very good service.On this occasion they have failed miserably. So beware if you suddenly receive a speeding fine administration fee,always check the details carefully. 

Reply by Malagacar.com

Dear customer,
Thanks for your email. Yes, we know there was a mistake so please accept our apologies for it and of course the amount of 30 € will be refunded. Day before yesterday we sent your email to the account department.
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada

 

From: Czeslaw Molyn
Submitted: 19th December, 2016

Rating: (1 out of 5)


After some back and forth, I was able to get the invoice for the damage repair and get my deposit back minus the damage. This is a good company, just somewhat difficult to contact via email until after getting their attention via this review site. However, once I connected, they were very helpful.

From: Jeannette Wilcox
Submitted: 14th December, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Wir haben malagacar das erste Mal gebucht und unsere Erfahrungen sind identisch mit den vielen positiven Bewertungen. Einen wichtigen Hinweis für malagcar möchten wir an dieser Stelle anbringen. Für Erstkunden ist das Erreichen von malagacar für die Rückgabe des Fahrzeuges eine Geduldsprobe. Wir sind mindestens 1/4 Stunde umhergefahren, bis wir bemerkt haben, dass gleich nach dem Rondel rechts abgebogen werden muss. Da wir nicht sicher sind, ob in den Unterlagen ein entsprechender Hinweis für die Rückgabe des Fahrzeuges vorhanden war, fliesst dieser "Negativpunkt" nicht in die Bewertung. Wir werden auf jeden Fall beim nächsten Spanienbesuch wieder malagacar berücksichtigen. Vielen Dank für Ihre Bemühungen und Ihre Kundenfreundlichkeit.

From: Gianni P. Mazzoleni
Submitted: 14th December, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Used Malagacar between the 28th Aug and 6th Sept. The overall experience was great, although the queue outside the office was a bit long, I think this is undestandable due to the large number of customers. The car was great apart from few scratches and so were the staff. As we got lost on the way back and about 1 and 1/2 hour late for our car return time, we were quickly taken from the office to the airport by one of their drivers saving us the hassle of waiting for the minibus. So thank you Malagacar and will be using you again soon.

From: Kacem Mehouen
Submitted: 2nd December, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Alberto, I paid a deposit of 1000 euros and that was kept by your company. I have that receipt and it's also verified on my credit card records. I can get reimbursed by my insurance company if you repair the car and send me the bill. Please help me with this.

Reply by Malagacar.com
Hello,
Of course we will help you. Let me be in contact with our account department so we will send you the invoice.
Regards,
Alberto
 

From: Jeannette Wilcox
Submitted: 2nd December, 2016

Rating: (1 out of 5)


I have not been able to get a response about a car scratch that would be covered by my insurance company. Instead this company kept my 1000euro deposit and has not responded to my repeated requests for the repair bill. If they had truly repaired the car and sent me the paperwork, I could've filed it and gotten my 1000 euros reimbursed.

Reply by Malagacar.com
Dear customer,
Thanks for your mail. I am trying to find the conversation but with email “stinewilcox@gmail.com” I can find nothing. Anyway You have not paid 1000 € unless 284,35 €. Attached you can find the car’s picture damage.
Regards,
Alberto

From: Jeannette Wilcox
Submitted: 1st December, 2016

Rating: (1 out of 5)


I have used MalagaCar.com for well over 3 years and over this period of time have Incurred several different Issues, however I can also state that they do manage to resolve all problems 100%..... Genuine, reliable company that you can trust, not a lot of those around In my experience

From: Andy Stothard
Submitted: 1st December, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I have read some of the reviews and I do not understand where these people are coming from , how long have I used yourself 12 15 years and I use you every month an excellent company the staff are second to none as is there cars I have recommended the company to many people who have not been let down . One thing I would like to ask is I had the Range Rover from the 3rd to the 12 Nov I left my good lighter in the car could you please check and I will pluck it up when I am back on the 31st Dec thanking you in anticipation Stephen brown .

From: Stephen Brown
Submitted: 22nd November, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


We hired a car with Malagacar for 1 week in october. Delivery went very smooth. Car was OK and the price -full option- was as announced with no extra charges or hassle. We most certainly will repeat the experience.

From: Annemarie Dewilde
Submitted: 20th November, 2016

Rating: (4 out of 5)


Sorry, but we have just had a very disappointing experience with Malagacar. My daughter and boyfriend had reserved a car for 11 days. We went to pick it up, but they didn´t bring passports. However, each had driving lisence with picture and bank card with picture. Both are accepted in Norway as ID. BUT - "no way" said Malagacar " you´re in Spain now". Only DNI or PASSPORT! "Do you have a courtesy car or any kind of transport to help us out? A 30 min drive - bus/train takes 2 hrs" "Can we email a picture of the passport? " NO - NO -NO. A hostility and stubbornness I have never before encountered. We went to their neighbor, got a car, and drove happily away. Same car, same price and with a PROFESSIONAL and FRIENDLY service !!!

Reply by Malagacar.com

Dear Knut,
 We are sorry you were unhappy but by legal reasons the passport must be shown so a copy is not enough. We gave you the option to bring the original one but We cannot leave the office and go with you to pick it up.
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada

 

From: Knut Skodvin
Submitted: 18th November, 2016

Rating: (1 out of 5)


We have used Malagacar.com for years. Lately we are using them even more as we now have a property near Malaga. We have found them very efficient and very well priced. We arrive, get our number, wait a very short time and get whisked to the office to be processed. Why get an expensive taxi when you can have a car for a week for less then half the price.

From: Martin Pust
Submitted: 18th November, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I rented a car from Malagacar.com from 30 October through 6 November. DO NOT RENT FROM HERE! Here are the problems I had/am still having with them: 1) When we picked up the car, my card was declined even though I told my card company I was traveling in Spain (more on this later). No problem, I paid with another card. I called my card company half an hour later to see why it was declined, and they said Malagacar.com was flagged as fraud because they charged me twice within the same MINUTE - once as an online transaction for ~$180 USD (this is correct, this is for the contracted cost of the rental car); and then a second, manually keyed transaction for OVER $1300 USD! Turns out the company places a hold/pending charge of 1300 Euro on your credit card for the time you have your vehicle, in case of damages - so the $1300 USD charge was for the 1300 Euro minus the ~$180 cost of the actual rental. This policy was not mentioned ANYWHERE on their website or ANYWHERE on the booking confirmation email (trust me I have double- and triple-checked both since I've been home); nor was it explained to me in person when I picked up the car. It is vaguely mentioned in the fine print on the paperwork, which is how I went back after the fact and figured out what it was, but it's not very clear at all - i.e. it's not explained that the pending charge on your card will be the difference between 1300 Euro and your contracted rental price. Malagacar.com: YOU NEED TO EXPLAIN THIS TO YOUR CUSTOMERS. This is TERRIBLE customer service. I understand this is not fraud, because it is in the paperwork and I did sign it, but you need to verbally discuss this with your customers so when they get a call from their credit card company, they don't think their card information has been stolen/skimmed. 2) I returned the car, with no damages or issues and was cleared by the company employee, over a week ago and this charge is still showing up as pending on my credit card!! Over $1300 USD is not available to me because this company won't remove it after more than a WEEK! I have emailed them 3 times trying to get this fixed: the first time they told me they "don't have access to the money anymore so contact your bank". So I did, the card company told me the vendor aka Malagacar.com has to remove it on their end. I emailed them back, they said "well sometimes it takes 7-10 days for the charge to be removed, if it doesn't come off tomorrow contact us". That was last Thursday, it's now Monday and the charge is still pending, I emailed them again this morning to that effect and they have not responded. Very disappointed and very frustrated with the level of service I received from this company, and I'm still working on getting the pending charge cancelled from my card over a week later. Will not recommend.



Reply by Malagacar.com:
Dear customer,
 
We are sorry you were unhappy but you or your bank is not right. We charged you just once at 21:53 for an amount of 156,26 € and at 21:55 We tried to block a deposit (Not charge) so if the car was declined this had to be because there was a limit under that amount. You say this is not mentioned but I like to think you didn’t read the term and conditions or maybe you forgot this step because the car was booked a month prior your arrival:
 
When you looked the site and prices, you could read the conditions:


2.       After you choose the car and before you accept to make the booking, you could read again the term and conditions and this is next to the “Book car” bottom.:


3.       And when you received the booking voucher, you could read again




With these points, we consider this condition is explained and I am sure my colleague explained at the desk as well.
 
The amount blocked  is not in our account so this is blocked for a maximum of 9 days only.
 
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada

 

From: Brenna Brooks
Submitted: 14th November, 2016

Rating: (1 out of 5)


I have hired cars from malaga cars for many years .i previously used many other hire companys at malaga. Airport. No other company is as good as malaga cars for efficiency and treatment of customers .i advise customers to use the full package as you will have no problems also in my expierience the price you pay even with package is still much cheaper than same cover with any other company.also you get a good vehicle.10 out of 10 regards david

From: David Arthur Blakeway
Submitted: 10th November, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Used them twice this year (July/November). Absolutely no issues with them at all but, believe me, deciding which company to use based on all the online reviews is a nightmare. Opted for Malagacars and have no regrets whatsoever. Excellent service, great prices and good vehicles. Highly recommended

From: Richard Dixon
Submitted: 9th November, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


We have used Malagacar at least twice a year for the last four years and been satisfied with the service. We have noticed a steep decline in the level of service this year. Since the introduction of the FullPack, the collection from airport is chaotic, in fact we now find it quicker to walk and forget the bus... Once at the office, the queue is out of the office door, and for customers like us, who took the webrate (middle price option) you can get to next in queue only for the minibus to return with the latest pickup and find yourself behind several customers. It now seems that you need to almost double your charge to be attended to in reasonable time. There were 4 desks dedicated to FullPack, and the one for all others was unmanned. As regular customers we take advantage of the return customer client login for slightly reduced rates. However, the car we receive this time was very poor standard. Underpowered and covered in scratches and dents.. It was an old model. It is such shame that you have chosen to change your pricing strategy and the way you organise airport collection and booking desks. Rather than improve, it feels from the last 2 visits that the service has deteriorated. I hope you can review the situation as if the only way to get adequate service is to pay the fullpack rate, then you are no longer as competitive, even with client discount. Kind regards

Reply by Malagacar.com

Dear Mrs. Bolton,
Thanks for your email.
I am sorry you are not happy with the service but the full pack advantage is applied once the customer arrives at the office although we have a system based by order of arrival so nobody can take the minibus without it. With this system jumping queues is avoided. I can see you didn’t meet my colleague at the airport so you didn’t have this number.
  
We offer Priority attention service for customers who take Full pack so Web pack doesn’t include this service. Web pack includes half-half policy and a free additional driver. Anyway your flight landed at 10:44 (in rush time with other 29 families) so we think you could leave the terminal about 11.10 – 11.15 (I cannot check it because didn’t meet my colleague at the airport) and at 11:46 the contract was signed by you so you were served about 11:35. We don’t think this is a long waiting time.
 
The car rented was an Opel Corsa with 2 years old and only 40.000 kms. In order to take more powerful cars you must choose group C1 or higher.

We always promise best value and this is what we offer. Maybe you can find cheaper options but you must be careful with hidden extras like fuel policy and exorbitant fuel prices, really high deposit…

Regards,
 
J. Alberto Anglada

 

From: Mrs Bolton
Submitted: 8th November, 2016

Rating: (2 out of 5)


I have used malagacar for many years often two to three month period.excellent company I will always recommend them

From: Bill Campbell
Submitted: 5th November, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


My experience with Malagacar.com has gone a long way towards restoring my confidence in car hire. Experience elsewhere has caused me to favour bus/train/taxi options but I would have no hesitation using this service next time I visit Malaga. Thank you. One suggestion is that you leave in the car basic information on local driving regulations e.g. the main speed limits. It took me quite a while searching the Internet to find all the essentials.

From: Alan Sharpe
Submitted: 4th November, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


excellent service the cars in good condition, quick delivery time.

From: Pozzuoli Vincenzo
Submitted: 4th November, 2016

Rating: (4 out of 5)


Je loue depuis " ans t je recommencerai en 2017... Toujours très satisfait du service de malaga car : des voitures en bon état (scenic) et un accueil rapide et sympathique. Seule reamarque : il a été difficile d'obtenir une réponse à des mails envoyés depuis la France suite à un bris de pare brise par un caillou. Mais enfin M. ANGLADA a fini par répondre pour que je puisse obtenir le remboursement par la carte Visa...N'empèche donc pas mon bon avis sur cette entreprise qui loue à des tarifs raisonnables de bons véhicules...Ils restent dignes de confiance.

From: Le Dilasser Christian
Submitted: 3rd November, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


My family and I arrived late evening on 22nd October. As instructed we looked for someone holding a Malagacar.com sign in the arrivals hall. There was no one. However we eventually spotted a lady wearing a jacket which said Malagacar.com on. Behind her, propped up on a column with other car hire signs was her sign. We approached her, got a ticket and vague directions and set off to find the minibus. When we eventually found the right place it proved to be a complete scrum. The minibuses pulled in wherever they could and those people who were lucky enough to be standing in the right place got on - no driver looked at tickets or asked what our number was. Half our party got on a bus - 3 of us were left trying to get on another for 20-30 minutes whilst being elbowed out of the way by other overzealous customers. Once at the office service was prompt - I tried to tell your representative what was happening at the terminal but to say he was disinterested is an understatement. I was met with a complete blank stare and 'one driver or two?'. The car was OK. On return the mileage and fuel were checked and we were told where to park. Then we literally had to interrupt the chatting members of staff to hand back the keys, They would not have noticed if I'd taken them home! In summary the cars are fine - customer service was abysmal.

Reply by Malagacar.com
Dear customer,
 
Thanks for your words which are really welcome. The customer service is really important for us so I will check who were working on October 22nd evening and October 29th you came at 13:41 and you were served in less than 10 seconds by the staff (I have just checked CCTV). You were said to park the car inside and leave the car with the keys so I don’t think this is an abysmal customer service.
 
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada
 

From: Gillian Starke
Submitted: 30th October, 2016

Rating: (2 out of 5)


Next 30 Reviews »


Site map | Legal warning | Privacy policy | Affiliate Program | Work with us
Address: Avenida del Comandante García Morato, 34 (Pol. Ind. Aeropuerto de Málaga) 29004 Málaga, Spain.
Tel: +34 952 17 60 30. Email: info@malagacar.com.
All content © 2015 malagacar.com - Bardon y Rufo 67 S.L.
Malaga Car Hire
 Car hire Malaga Alquiler de coches en Malaga Autovermietung Malaga Flughafen Malaga Car autoverhuur Malaga car hire in Russian Malaga Location de voitures
Help and Support
24 hour services

Credit cards accepted