Contact us

Malaga car hire office Address:
Avenida García Morato, 34
(Pol. Ind. Aeropuerto de Málaga)
29004 - Málaga, Spain.

Phone:
+34 952 17 60 30.

24 hours Phone + WhatsApp:
+34 600 523 523.

UK Phone:
0871 2844700.

Email:
info@malagacar.com

Agencies:
agency@malagacar.com.

Mailing List:
Subscribe to our mailing list.


MalagaCar.com reviews

Share your experience

Some costumers have written back with appreciative comments about our car hire Malaga airport services. You can find below a selection of the latest testimonials and reviews received:

Send your review Share your experience with Malagacar.com


4.7 out of 5.0 based on 1247 reviews.


Next 30 Reviews »
I have used Malagacar three times this year and have always found the level of service very good. My only cause of frustration is the free for all when boarding the minibus. Why give a customer a numbered ticket when it means nothing when boarding the bus. I would be happy to pay a little extra if it meant having a proper supervised system.

From: E. Kirby
Submitted: 22nd September, 2016

Rating: (4 out of 5)


I HAVE RENTED FROM MALAGACAR.COM FOR THE LAST 3 YEARS AND ALWAYS FOUND THE SERVICE EXCELLENT.HOWEVER,THIS YEAR I RENTED A CAR AS USUAL BUT FOUND THAT THE AIRPORT MINIBUS PICKUP SYSTEM TO BE A COMPLETE SHAMBLES. I WAS GIVEN A NUMBER BY THE REPESENTATIVE IN THE ARRIVALS HALL,BUT THIS NUMBER DID NOT APPEAR TO HAVE ANY RELEVANCE AT ALL.THE MINIBUS DRIVERS WERE TAKING WHOEVER FORCED THERE WAY FORWARD TO GET ON A BUS,AND THE NUMBER WE WERE GIVEN WAS MEANINGLESS.MAY I SUGGEST THAT A FURTHER REPRESENTATIVE IS EMPLOYED TO ORGANISE A QUEUING SYSTEM AT THE PICKUP POINT IN ORDER THAT PEOPLE ARE NOT MILLING ABOUT AND THERE IS SOME SEMBLANCE OF ORDER TO THE SYSTEM.I REALISE THAT IT WAS A VERY BUSY SATURDAY,SEPT 3RD,BUT THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE WAS VERY OFF PUTTING.HAVING SAID THAT,MY PREVIOUS EXPERIENCES WITH THE COMPANY HAVE ALL BEEN FINE,AND I NORMALLY HAVE NO PROBLEMS,CERTAINLY WITH THE VEHICLES PROVIDED AND WITH THE SERVICE AT THE OFFICE.I TRUST YOU WILL TAKE THESE COMMENTS ON BOARD AND ATTEMPT TO PROVIDE A MORE ORGANISED SERVICE AT THE AIRPORT.

Reply by Malagacar.com

Dear Mr. McGrath,
Thanks for your email. We are improving the service every day so this is why we are using the pickup system. You can think is a shamble but no. With this the staff know always how many customers have been met by our colleague at the airport so this is important in order you don’t have to wait under the tunnel and you can enjoy a quick service.
 Anyway you arrived with others 70 families in just 1 hour (really rush time) so this is why the staff didn’t like to lose time checking the numbers (speeding way) .
 Regards,
 J. Alberto Anglada

 

From: Anthony Mcgrath
Submitted: 22nd September, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


We rent a car with full pack in July and everything was clear and without any problems until the car was returned to the company. The car was returned without any comments from malagacar staff with words "everything is ok". After few days they took additional costs from my card for refueling of the tank (half tank policy)(We haven't got any bill or invoice yet).. But we refuel half tank ourself day before returning day. At the moment there is very tough communication with Mlagacar about this claim. My recommendation for other people keen on rent a car in Malagacars is to be very watchful during returning a car. Take a picture of the fuel gauge.

Reply by Malagacar.com

Dear Mr. Vancek,
 Thanks for contacting us. You were charged because the car was not returned with half a tank but after this email I have just studied your case and I can see the employee who closed the car rental contract made a mistake because this  car was not filled up after was returned so you are right. The corresponding amount will be refunded between today and tomorrow and the account department will be in contact with you.
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada
 

From: Matus Vancek
Submitted: 22nd September, 2016

Rating: (2 out of 5)


Just returned from Torre Del Mar and used Malaga Car for the fourth time. As usual the service and the car(Kia Ceed petrol) were superb. From the pick up at Malaga airport (which was as soon as I got to the pick up point) to getting my car took under 15 minutes.The young man (I wish i'd gotten his name now) that served me was great.He had good humour, and was very polite and helpful. Also,NO pressure to take extra insurance (I had my own).When I returned the car I was driven to the airport immediately. All for £179.30 including fuel for 3 three weeks. Bargain!!!!!Thank you Malaga Car! I will be back next year for sure.

From: Robert Bennett
Submitted: 21st September, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


As customer of Malagacar for many years, I am ver disapointed to find they have increased their prices by 48% yes 48% from 2015 t0 2016. I checked my 2015 rental against their 2016 quotation. I asked for an explanation of this massive increase but got none. My advice check other hire companies prices

Reply by Malagacar.com
Dear customer,
 Thanks for your email. Last year you rented the car at the end of October and November for 50 days so this is the cheapest season but this year you like the car for October 8th so this is why the price cannot be compared so the prices are not increased.
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada
 

From: Peter Callan
Submitted: 21st September, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


With no doubt it was very pleasant experience with malagacar.com. We booked online full-pack for 6 days. Confirmation and all instructions were sent by e-mail. It was very easy to find malagacar.com representative in the arriving hall at Malaga Airport, who gave instructions to find the minivan. Identification number which was given by the representative at the airport didn't have actually any importance because people still ran to the minivan and the drivers didn't pay attention to the number given. Nevertheless, the next minivan arrived in 2 min. The only thing which could have been better is the marking of the spot where minivan stops. Currently there was nothing to indicate where the buses pick up. The service in the office was very fast with no problems, we received the car in 10 minutes and the car was new, clean and decent. Returning was even faster. We are extremely satisfied with malagacar.com services and will definitely recommend it to others and will use it next time again. If you want stress-free car rental for your holidays, then this is it.

From: Kerti Kera
Submitted: 19th September, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Top car company ,staff always helpful and polite use them 5+times a year never a problem and now we make sure our son and daughter use them for peace of mind

From: Nic Booth
Submitted: 19th September, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Have used this company a few times in the last year,currently on my 6th booking and have another car booked for next month. Never had a problem with cars. I've always booked the Full Pack rate for peace of mind. My only observation would be for a seperate or more obvious entrance / desk for priority bookings outside the office as I've often noticed confusion amongst customers queing outside and maybe not aware of the 'perk', especially at busy times. Overall still one of the best value for money companies.

From: Pete Downing
Submitted: 18th September, 2016

Rating: (4 out of 5)


Very rude people. I've never written a bad review but I need to share my experience with this company. I'm from Spain, but lived in England for 8 years. These people need some training in good customer service. There was a long queue and when it was my turn, one of the sales assistant tried to push in one of his friends who was in the queue. Soon two English people who was waiting as well noticed what was going on and let the guy know it was my turn, not his friend's. Then, as he was angry, he said to me straight away I had to pay 1000 euros without explaining why. I was shocked as I didn't know I had to pay that for deposit. He was very agressive and rude and the manager who was 2 meters from him didn't even look up. Both were rude and had bad manners. I had my 3 years old daughter waiting as well for ages and we ended up looking for another company. We found Europcar and I have to say I will definitely rely on them again. They charge 500 euros for the rent of the car and also the deposit. I was very pleased with the service and their customer service skills.

Reply by Malagacar.com

Dear Mrs Sonora,
After reading your comments through our website and google +, let me say that everything must have been a misunderstanding on your part. You are right when you came, you did with other families at rush hour and there was some queue which does not mean that the waiting time was elevated (26 minutes on average since you arrived at the airport arrivals terminal until the lease is signed).
As you said, it is true that some families were served at the quick service counters before you but this is because they chose a pack we offer on the website at the time of booking and which you did not choose but in no case it was because they were "friends" because customer service is vital for us, and the staff applies the rules and therefore to give priority to customers with the option of Full pack.
If you feel upset about the treatment you claim to have received, let me apologize although the staff is well trained and prepared to never put a bad face.
On the amount of 1000 euros you say you would have to pay without explanation, I ask you to stick to the facts as the only amount you would have to pay is 184.59 € and not double as you say you have paid in another company.
The amount of 1000 euros of which you speak is the franchise corresponding to the vehicle and is blocked instead of charged that is what would have said my colleagues. You can always avoid leaving that amount and accept the insurance therefore you would still only have paid 352.59 euros (30% less than the other company). All this is explained in the terms and conditions and in your booking confirmation.

Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada
 

From: Carmen
Submitted: 14th September, 2016

Rating: (1 out of 5)


We travel regularly to Malaga and have tried a lot of car hire companies. For those complainers about the time it takes to complete the documentation at Malagacar.com try some of the other companies within the airport. We arrived last Saturday and we were met outside the arrivals hall and were given instructions on where to find the van to take us to our car. Within 20 minutes we were driving out of the airport. Pretty good service we thought. The only criticism I have and it is with all car hire companies is why do we have to wait until we get to the desk for the staff to copy all our driving licence and passport details, why on earth can't we complete these at time of booking, we can input the details ourselves and once we are at the desk the staff then only have to check details are correct. This must save time.

From: Gordon Clark
Submitted: 13th September, 2016

Rating: (4 out of 5)


I too was shocked to see some bad reviews for Malagacar. Over a ten year period I have booked with them 7 times. They get 10 out of 10 from me. Great Value. Never had any issue with any car rented from them and always achieved an efficient service. Yes you need to take their shuttle mini bus from Airport 3 minutes down road but we never had to wait more than 5 minutes and for the value they offer we will continue booking with them. Thank you Malagacar for your continued service

From: Charles Alken
Submitted: 13th September, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Unfortunately i have had a bad experience with this rental company. Since my first rental in May I have had to return three cars due to mechanical problems, two cars the brakes were worn out and the third car smelt strongly of petrol INSIDE the cabin.We live in Estepona so it was a day out just to change the vehicles in Malaga In all cases the cars were delivered in a very dirty condition inside. We personally cleaned the interiors of all the cars they supplied. I am now looking for another company for the rest of my stay here.

From: Ernest Chedotal
Submitted: 13th September, 2016

Rating: (2 out of 5)


We have used many car hire companies over the 10 years we have been visiting the Costa del sol. This is by far the best value. We had a problem with a cracked windscreen and it was resolved immediately. We needed to change a booking and this too was done immediately. It is only our second booking with this company but have no hesitation in recommending them. We shall certainly use them again.

From: Richard Potter
Submitted: 12th September, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I spent ages trying to decide who to book our rental car with whilst on holiday recently in the Costa Del Sol due to reading so many bad stories. I am so pleased I chose Malagacar the booking was very simple online a few days before we travelled. We were picked up from the airport immediately and taken to their office, the paperwork was quick and simple, the car was clean and exactly what we booked. I am so pleased we paid for the full cover for peace of mind, we returned the car half full as we picked it up and as simple as that we were returned immediately to the airport. I am so pleased with the company and service and would recommend to everyone, we will definitely be booking with them next year when we return to Costa Del Sol.

From: Mrs Joanne Gill
Submitted: 5th September, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


We received a really good service from Malagacar. Everything went to plan, all as per the booking and our email exchanges. Would definitely use again as finding the right car hire company can be a bit of a nightmare. The only point I would raise is that I found it difficult after dropping off the other passengers at the departures hall to get back in to the car hire drop off area. Some clearer instructions would have been appreciated. Other than that, great service.

From: Brian Laing
Submitted: 2nd September, 2016

Rating: (4 out of 5)


After booking online, you are supposed to get a confirmation code emailed within 48 hours. 3 days passed and still no confirmation code of a booking, despite us flying out to Malaga airport on the 3rd day. On arrival at the airport, the assistant for Malaga cars was not easily identifiable as there is no office in the main airport, just a person in the crowd wearing an orange malagacar.com t shirt. After asking various people we did find him. After a short shuttle bus to the main office, I qued up to be served, and for some reason "full pack" customers get served first. The majority of customers having no idea what "full pack" is. Really stupid as they have a dedicated "express/full pack" desk - yet the other normal desks continued to give priority to them and totally ignore normal customers! After waiting for 30-40 mins I was finally served... (a long que of non full pack customers had formed due to the inadequacy of the system due to all desks only serving full pack customers). At this point, I was already frustrated and then they tell me my booking can't be found! I showed them my email on my phone and he went to see his boss. In the end, he told me the booking email wasn't sent as they didn't have any of the cars left... an email from them explaining this would have been nice! I was then told they only had group C cars, which was €209 , to which I thought great. Then when they asked for payment I was told €390.00!!!! As they had charged me for insurance and half a tank of fuel (which is a con). I didn't even get a choice in the matter I was told. Almost doubling the cost of the car you can understand why I'm annoyed. What's the most annoying is finding out you DON'T need the insurance. It was added to my bill without me even being asked. I did question it but was told it was COMPULSORY. I was so exhausted and frustrated that I just paid it as we needed a car. I'm not one to complain but this really annoyed me. Beware of being ripped off by the insurance hard-sell, or in my case just being forced to have it.

Reply y Malagacar.com
Dear Mr. O’Connor,
 Thanks for your comment. After study your case I can see you were contact by us 6 minutes after you requested the car with opening hours and just a few minutes later you confirmed the car. The booking department made a mistake as the booking was not made at the moment so the staff had to mark the email as read so please accept our apologizes. The car you tried to book cost 30 € cheaper so this amount will be refunded to your credit card.
Maybe was not easy for your find our representative person because You didn’t receive the booking confirmation with the instructions where We can be found.
The reason why the customers with “Full pack “ bookings are served first is because this option is offered online so you declined this pack. Priority Attention with quick delivery (customers with Full Pack Rate will be attended with priority in the office) and return.
If you read the term and conditions (You did because you choose the basic rate), you see the fuel has to be paid and the insurance is optional and not compulsory.
Regards,
J. Alberto Anglada

 

From: Patrick
Submitted: 1st September, 2016

Rating: (2 out of 5)


Hi, Overall I had a good experience hiring a car with Malagacar and would use again. The car had a few scratches but we noted this on the hire agreement and there was no issue on the return. The only area of improvement that I would suggest is relating to the childrens car seats. The first one that we picked was broken and the staff were not trained on how to fit them. Malagacar need to improve on this.

From: S Shah
Submitted: 28th August, 2016

Rating: (4 out of 5)


We had heard that car hire at Malaga airport can be a complete nightmare, so we carefully checked onine reviews and went with Malagacar.com as they had a better score than most. We paid extra for full service because they offered "Priority check-in with express pick-up & return service" as quoted on their website and we wanted to avoid any problems on arrival. I have no idea what we were paying for. When we arrived we were waived down the road to pick up a van that took ages to arrive, and when it did everyone waiting just ran at the driver trying to get on the vehicle. There were arguments among customers because there was no queues and people were just jumping in. There seemed to only be one van taking passengers to the depot and the driver spoke no english so could provide no reassurance. AFter waiting for 30 mins we ended up paying out 20 euros to take a taxi 3 mins down the road because we had no faith at all in the service and had no idea when we would finally fight out way on to a van. When we arrived at the office, the priority queue (desk no.3) had longer queues than the standard service desk. In summary, we paid extra to guarantee no hassle at the airport, and it was a complete nightmare. Not what you want when you arrive with two very tired children to start your holiday. Why they don't have somebody managing things and organising people on and off the taxi service from the airport to the depot i have no idea.

From: Henrietta Corcoran
Submitted: 22nd August, 2016

Rating: (2 out of 5)


Worst experience i have ever had, To begin with the pros because they are not alot Good price but not compared to quality Frequent shuttle service from/to airport Fast check out process yet not professional No credit card required on booking The cons They began with the lond waiting time at the office since there were only two employees serving a bunch of customers Although we have booked the full package which had a seperate window at the office The recieving process is lengthy, the employeee was extremely rude and acted as if we are waisting her time She asked for our credit card even though after saying that we want to pay cash and although we have booked the full package which entails that no excess must be reserved on the credit card. She did not clarify why does she need the credit card for even after asking her 3 times; the answer was I just need it. Another thing is that when we asked for the mifi and the gps that we booked she said let me see if mifi is available !!! Let me see, then why do people reserve it prior in time ?? Thanks god she had this mifi ofcourse uncharged and she even gave it to us without the usb adapter that we have to put in the car because the card didn't have any built in usb adapter. As we have booked a renault clio w had a fiat which was no problem because its in the same group but the problem is that when they claim that all their cars are 2015 she gave us a car that is a 2012 which was really the oldest of all cars in the parking area and when i asked for this right she said I can't do anything for u all other cars are booked. I even asked her if I can upgrade to another car group and get a better car, she had the same response. And not to miss that the car had a big stain on the back seet. Ps: They don't refund fuel that is extra than half but this one was our fault

From: Nariman Eissa
Submitted: 21st August, 2016

Rating: (2 out of 5)


Our experience with Malaga car hire got off to a good start however unfortunately we had some issues with our accommodation and needed to return home early. We brought the car back only 2 days into our 6 day rental and upon drop off were told by the member of staff checking the car back in that we would receive 3 days rent back by refund. After numerous emails to this company with no reply we still have not received our refund which was promised. Be aware when returning a vehicle back early as what is promised for all intents and purpose isn't carried out.

From: Mr Adams
Submitted: 19th August, 2016

Rating: (1 out of 5)


There are terrible stories about car hire companies but we have hired from Malagacars.com numerous times and never had one single problem and have 4 more bookings in to 2017 so are glad to give a 5 star rating

From: Robin John Grant
Submitted: 17th August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Really bad service arrived at malagacar.com offices mixed my car booking up with my parents nobody explained how the car worked etc etc Stayed in Mijas area, car that was given to me was not fit for purpose clutch absolutely gone car kept stalling going up hills really dangerous,car got so bad decided to leave it parked at the villa. When I returned the car and complained I was told that the manager was at home in bed and that it wasn't his problem(typical Spanish medieval attitude towards customer service) Left with a very sour experience, one car hire company to avoid!!!!!!

From: Paul Sibley
Submitted: 16th August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Good and fast service, friendly and a very reasonable price. Booking via the website wasn't very easy, had to do it 3 times before it succeeded, but that's not really a problem, especially when you get an fine car, and you don't have to wait. I strongly recommend this company!! Jan Netherlands

From: Jan Biesma
Submitted: 15th August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Excellent company. Terrific value. Friendly helpful staff

From: James Long
Submitted: 10th August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Malagacar.com are a fantastic company. It was my first time hiring a car abroad and was a little apprehensive but they were very welcoming, friendly and helpful not to mention a great price. Malagacar.com were recommended to me and they certainly lived up to that. I would recommend them to anyone and would definitely use them again on my next visit. Thank you Malagacar.com.

From: Martyn Dainty
Submitted: 6th August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I have used 95% of all the car hire companies in Spain.I can honestly say that this company are easily the best. Such a shame they are just based in Malaga. Ian

From: Ian Black
Submitted: 3rd August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


I and other family members have used this car company on several occassions and have found this a pretty smooth process. You definitely dont get the impression that they are out to rob you. At times it maybe busy so you may have to wait a little, but staff are friendly cars are good quality. The only down side is having to wait on the bus which can be quite busy as the office is not at the terminal. However, I would gladly hire from this company again, in fact I am in the process of doing so. You here so many horror stories about other companies it's good to know that these aren't one of those and are reasonably priced which is a huge bonus. Thanks

From: Lorraine Magee
Submitted: 3rd August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


First time hiring a car in the Costa del Sol and only my second visit to the area. I had no prior knowledge of companies,however I made my booking with Malagacar as they offered an all in price, what you see is what you pay and a like for like fuel policy. This is in stark contrast to the majority of companies who just look to rob the people visiting for as much as they can get away with. Upon arrival a representative was waiting who told us the way to our shuttle pick up. Being taken away offsite is a bit concerning, but in actual fact it is just a three minute ride, practically across the road. Served promptly by a friendly lady as soon as I stepped into the office. A slight problem with her computer, but we were quickly sorted out and given keys to a very smart, tidy,new Skoda Fabia. I had booked a Toyota Aygo, so this was an upgrade! The car itself was great for it's purpose even on uphill motorway it kept it's pace. I'd actually recommend the Fabia. We saw the coast between Almuñecar and Estepona whilst staying in Nerja and it only cost €40 in fuel. The service at drop off was just as friendly and efficient as when picking it up. Quickly boarding the bus at at the terminal just ten minutes later. Five stars, and highly recommended. Don't be taken in by cheap deals on travel comparison sites. They are never what they seem.

From: R Mussett
Submitted: 3rd August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


The fact that I have hired cars on five occasions from them this year is surely evidence of the high service levels at malagacar.com. We now qualify for a loyalty discount which demonstrates excellent customer loyalty. No complaints and would recommend. A suggestion for the future maybe to issue a loyalty card allowing priority collection.

From: Andy Ingleston
Submitted: 1st August, 2016

Rating: (5 out of 5)


Never again. Arrogant staff. Be careful of your belongings. A few dishonest members of staff. Let's see if they post this. If not it will be posted elsewhere.

From: Karl Brooks
Submitted: 29th July, 2016

Rating: (1 out of 5)


Next 30 Reviews »


Site map | Legal warning | Privacy policy | Affiliate Program | Work with us
Address: Avenida del Comandante García Morato, 34 (Pol. Ind. Aeropuerto de Málaga) 29004 Málaga, Spain.
Tel: +34 952 17 60 30. Email: info@malagacar.com.
All content © 2015 malagacar.com - Bardon y Rufo 67 S.L.
Malaga Car Hire
 Car hire Malaga Alquiler de coches en Malaga Autovermietung Malaga Flughafen Malaga Car autoverhuur Malaga car hire in Russian Malaga Location de voitures
Help and Support
24 hour services

Credit cards accepted