Map of Malaga Speed Cameras

Radar Malaga
In Spain take place each year over 4,000,000 traffic offences, of which about half (46 %) belong to speeding.

Malaga province currently has 19 radars distributed mainly between the A-7 and A-45 motorways; and exceeding the speed limits can get really expensive: Fines for speeding range from 100 euros without loss of points to 600 euros and the possibility of jail.

…and what about Devices to detect radars?

There are currently three types of devices for the location of radars of which only one is allowed:

Radar Informant. These come standard on GPS and have access to the data base of the DGT (General Direction of Traffic).

The Radar Detectors can detect signals emitted by radar and alert the driver with an acoustic signal; they are prohibited since 2014.

Radar Inhibitors alter the action of the radar and are prohibited. Their installation carries a fine of 6,000 euros and withdrawal of six license points.

In general we recommend not exceeding more than five percent of the speed marking the speedometer of your car; thus you´ll avoid being caught by radar. And if you don´t want a speeding ticket you have it quite easy: Just don´t exceed the set speed.


Speed Cameras in Malaga Province:


Mediterranean Motorway A-7

Km. 175,8, Puerto Banus, Marbella. 120 km/h
Km. 200,1-205,2 Section radar. Calaburras Lighthouse, Mijas, 80 km/h
Km. 205,2-200,1 Section radar. Calaburras Lighthouse, Mijas, 80 km/h
Km. 246, Cerrado de Calderon, 80 km/h
Km. 256,7, Rincon de la Victoria-Torre de Benagalbon, 80 km/h
Km. 287,6-288,7 Section radar. Torrox Tunnel, 100 km/h

Las Pedrizas Motorway A-45

Km. 103,3, Las Pedrizas, 100 Km/h
Km. 118, Villanueva de Cauche, 100 km/h
Km. 126-128,8. Section radar. Las Pedrizas Tunnels, 80 km/h
Km. 134,2-140,2 Section radar. Venta Cotrina, 80 km/h

Other secondary roads

A-355: Km. 28,5, Coin-Marbella, next to Ojen, 60 km/h
A-356: Km. 36,5 Carretera de Arco (Casabermeja-Velez), next to La Viñuela, 60 km/h
A-357: Km. 38,9, Guadalhorce Motorway, Zalea junction, 100 km/h
A-367: Km. 22,8, Ardales-Ronda, next to Cuevas del Becerro, 90 km/h
A-384: Km. 86,9, Almargen, in direction towards Campillos, 100 km/h
A-397: Km. 7, Ronda-San Pedro, in Ronda, 60 km/h
A-397: Km. 11, Ronda-San Pedro, in Igualeja, 60 km/h
A-7052: Km. 3,5, Churriana-Cartama, next to Alhaurin de la Torre, 60 km/h
A-7054: Km. 8,7, Malaga-Pizarra, 60 Km/h

3 Responses to Map of Malaga Speed Cameras

  1. Stephen Ryan says:

    Hi there,
    I am just wondering why do some motorways in spain, particularly the malaga area have speed limits such as 80 km/h or 100 km/h, when some are probably more than safe enough to have speed limits of 120 km/h and would not significantly increase the risk of accidents??

    • Hi Stephen,

      In some cases it seems justified, like the Mijas Costa section radar. But a few of them have no particular reason to be there (Km. 246, Cerrado de Calderon, I’m looking at you!). They are clearly used to make some cash.

      Best regards,

  2. Pingback: Traffic Fines in Malaga

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.